Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip Navigation LinksHome > About Riksrevisjonen

About Riksrevisjonen

​The Office of the Auditor General shall ensure that the community's resources and assets are used and administered in keeping with the Storting's decisions. We do this through auditing, monitoring and guidance.

General vision

The Office of the Auditor General shall contribute to better use of public resources.


The OAG has an independent status in relation to government administration, and reports the results of its auditing and monitoring activities to the Norwegian parliament (the Storting).

Types of audit

The OAG performs three types of audit:

  • financial audits
  • performance audits
  • corporate control

Facts about the OAG

  • The OAG is led by a Board of five Auditors General who are elected for a term of four years
  • Per-Kristian Foss is the Chairman of the Board of Auditors General and has been elected for the period 2018-2021
  • Jens Gunvaldsen is the Secretary General, the senior administrative manager
  • The educational background and expertise of the OAG's staff is varied and includes auditing, finance, law and various social sciences.
  • In 2017, work corresponding to 423 FTEs was performed within the OAG.
  • The OAG's head office is situated in Oslo, and there are regional offices in Bergen, Trondheim, Bodø, Tromsø, Hamar and Kristiansand. The OAG had 67 employees at regional offices outside Oslo as of 31 December 2017.
  • The OAG was established in 1816


Riksrevisjonen, Storgata 16, P.O. Box 6835 St. Olavs plass, 0130 Oslo, Norway

Phone: +47 22 24 10 00 974 760 843